The earwig fauna (Insecta: Dermaptera) of Penang Island, Malaysia, with descriptions of two new species

Yoshitaka Kamimura, Masaru Nishikawa, Chow Yang Lee

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

8 Citations (Scopus)


The earwig (Dermaptera) fauna of Penang Island, Malaysia, was evaluated by means of an extensive field survey together with revision of the few published data. Based on the results of the field survey, 31 species are recognized (2 Diplatyidae, 3 Pygidicranidae, 5 Anisolabididae, 2 Labiduridae, 14 Spongiphoridae, 4 Chelisochidae, 1 Forficulidae). Fifteen of these taxa are new to Peninsular Malaysia (=West Malaysia): Diplatys annandalei Burr, 1911, Diplatys mutiara n. sp., Euborellia philippinensis Srivastava, 1979, Metisolabis punctata (Dubrony, 1879), Pseudovostox brindlei Srivastava, 2003, Chaetospania anderssoni Brindle, 1971, Chaetospania javana Borelli, 1926, Chaetospania huisiangi n. sp., Paralabellula boettcheri (Borelli, 1923), Paralabellula rotundifrons (Hincks, 1954), Nesogaster amoenus (Stål, 1855), Hamaxas crassus Borelli, 1926, Proreus coalescens (Borelli, 1927), Hypurgus humeralis (Kirby, 1891), and an unidentified Echinosoma sp. Species composition of the island are compared with the dermapteran fauna of Thailand. Descriptions of females (or female genitalia) are given for some species for the first time.

Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)233-257
Number of pages25
Issue number2
Publication statusPublished - 2016 Feb 25


  • Chaetospania huisiangi
  • Diplatys mutiara
  • Semi-urban environments
  • Southeast Asia
  • Species catalog
  • Species diversity

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Ecology, Evolution, Behavior and Systematics
  • Animal Science and Zoology


Dive into the research topics of 'The earwig fauna (Insecta: Dermaptera) of Penang Island, Malaysia, with descriptions of two new species'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this